You cannot drive while drinking or while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol and driving while intoxicated is banned in all states of US. Though there are different definitions for DUI and DWI in different states, both are crimes under the law. In fact, there are a number of penal measures for drivers caught dui or dwi. These penal measures have been devised to dissuade people from coming dui or dwi crimes. These penal measures also include jail terms. Yet, incidences of dui and dwi are not down by any marked degree. Nevertheless, the incidences of underage dui are down to some extent in recent times. Teenage dui and dwi are a concern for the society and the parents. In many cases, these incidences result in deaths.
Different states deal with teenage DUI and DWI in different ways. In the case of Texas, the drinking and driving laws are different from many other states. Texas follows a Zero Tolerance policy towards drinking and driving. Here, the authorities can charge a teenager with a DUI if he or she is found to have a 0.8 or below blood or breath alcohol concentration. If the concentration is more than that the teenager may even be charged with DWI. The penalties for DWI and DUI are somewhat different. Nevertheless, teenage DUI, as well as DWI penalties, are less severe than adult DUI and DWI in all states including Texas. If an adult is booked under age DWI, he is likely to face an imprisonment of up to 180 days, a hefty penalty of around $2000, suspension of drivers’ license for about a year as well as an annual fee of anywhere between $1000 to $2000 for 3 years in order to retain the license. On the other hand, if a teenager is booked for DUI or even DWI, he or she may not need to serve a jail term at all. However, this is applicable only if the teenager is a first time offender. The license may be suspended for a period of 60 days, and he may need to engage in community service for a period of 20 hours to 40 hours.
Refusing to submit to a breathalyzer
There is a common misconception that refusal of breathalyzer can help you to avert a DUI or a DWI booking. In fact, on an average, about 20% of those booked under DWI or DUI refuse a breathalyzer. However, the fact is that refusal of breathalyzer itself is an offense. The authorities may impose stricter punishment if you refuse to take part in a breathalyzer. In fact, there are some states where there is no other way but to submit to a breathalyzer test. These states have provided for electronic warrants which show up in the traffic cops mobile. He can enforce a breathalyzer on you on the force of that warrant if he suspects to be under DWI or DUI. So it is never a good idea to escape the test which is carried out the measure your blood or breath alcohol content.